Our network

FLCC honor society welcomes 47 members | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

FLCC honor society welcomes 47 members
FLCC honor society welcomes 47 members

Forty-seven students have joined the Finger Lakes Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of the two-year college.
Alton Jowers Jr. of Newark, FLCC assistant professor of English, gave the keynote speech at the induction ceremony on Oct. 11 at the FLCC main campus. He encouraged the new Phi Theta Kappa members to get involved in sports, clubs or leadership opportunities, noting that engaged students have greater success in college.
Members of the Phi Theta Kappa executive committee and Phi Theta Kappa advisor Amy Flagler, instructor of communications, conducted the ceremony. Executive committee members are Andrew Henry, president; Victoria Barner, vice president; Deborah Fenn, secretary; Brett Bock, treasurer, and Julie Brooks, historian/photographer.
FLCC’s honor society chapter, Alpha Epsilon Chi, was chartered in 1981 and provides leadership and service opportunities for members. Membership requires completion of 15 hours of associate degree course work and a GPA of 3.5.
New members are:
Alton: Christina Murray
Clyde: Heather Wright
Lyons: Meaghan Dubey
Macedon: Joseph Hirsch
Marion: Jacqueline Crane
Newark: Stephen Friedel
Ontario: Leona Billett, Laurie Swanson
Palmyra: Cathy Foti, Meghan Orbaker
Sodus: Kayla Taylor
Williamson: Jason Orsburn

Courtesy www.MPNNow.com


Victor-Canandaigua Deals

Upcoming Events near Victor-Canandaigua